# Faculty Senate Meeting Southwest Tennessee Community College Teleconference – Macon, Fulton 117; Union, A-201 December 2, 2003 Minutes

## A. Call to Order and Roll Call

The Senate was called to order at 3:45 P.M., December 2.

The following Senators were present for roll call: M. Bodayla, D., Branch, L. Smith, C. McKinney, D. Railston, C. Heinrich, B. Turner, L. Miller, S. Park, R. Schlichter, M. Cutler, M. Beloate, J. Pritchard, M. Pratt, T. McColgan, B. Drake, L. Regan, L. Pope (and S. Haley).

The following Senators were absent for roll call: M. Moses, J. Redmond, G. Spencer, D. Brace, G. Foon, C. Crabtree, C. Wagner, L. Gatewood

The following Senators submitted a proxy: T. Blankenbeckler, proxy to R. Schlichter

- B. Reading and Approval of Minutes The November minutes were approved as read.
- C. Reports from Senate Officers and Senate Committees
  - 1. Senate Executive Committee
    - a. Senate Committee Liaison (L. Miller)
    - b. Curriculum Committee Liaison (C. McKinney)
    - c. Scholarship Committee Liaison (L. Smith)
  - 2. Academic Matters Committee (Dunn)
  - No report.
  - 3. Grade Appeals Committee (Shaw) No report
  - 4. Faculty Handbook Committee (D. Smith) The Handbook Committee has changes to recommend for the handbook. They have inquired about how to proceed. The committee should send their report to the Senate.
  - 5. Faculty Development and Evaluation Committee (Singleton)
  - No report..
  - 6. Faculty Welfare Committee No report.

The following are College Standing Committees with Specific Senate relationships:

- 7. Curriculum Committee No report
- Promotion and Tenure Committee No report
- 9. Readmission Appeals Committee No report
- D. Unfinished Business None

### E. New Business

1. Part-time Faculty Concerns

Any changes regarding representation of part-time faculty need to be made before the final vote on the constitution in February or March. After several suggestions but no overall agreement among senators, L. Smith suggested that the SEC come back with a recommendation at the next meeting.

Promotion and Tenure Committee – Drawing of Names.
 Due to the separate locations of the President and Vice President because of the teleconference, S. Haley

suggested a suspension of the rules for 10 minutes so that the Parliamentarian, M. Bodalya, rather than the Vice President, L. Smith, could organize the names into the proper groups. This was unanimously approved by the senators. M. Bodalya also read the appropriate paragraphs from the constitution regarding the drawing of names.

First, the three division members were drawn: Lafayette Gatewood from Education, Penny Mays from Allied Health, and Leslie Peeples from Accountancy, Office Administration and Career Studies. Secondly, the three alternates were drawn: Brenda Jinkins, Frankie Harris, and Larry Butts. Finally, the remaining four members were drawn: Steve Katz, Louis Moses, Mike Wright, and Harry Nichols.

3. Concern Over Limited Time Between Classes

J. Pritchard expressed concern that 10 minutes between classes is insufficient. He moved that the administration give 15 minutes between classes to be universal and applied as soon as possible. The motion was seconded by L. Regan. The motion failed with 6 in favor and 7 opposed.

S. Haley will refer this matter to the Academic Matters committee.

Justification of Promotion and Tenure Vote
 R. Schlichter reported that members of his department were required to justify a nay vote and asked if there
 were any kind of policy on this. S. Haley will get a clarification for the next meeting.

### F. Adjournment

The Senate moved to adjourn at 4:10 P.M. The next Senate meeting will be during the first week of January. The location will be announced.

5635

Roll

### Southwest Senators and Senate Committees

### January Roll Sheet

### 2003-2004 Senate

President:	Steve Haley	shaley
------------	-------------	--------

# **Division Senators:**

### **Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats.**

(Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice)

Mary Ann Bodayla (2yrs)	mbodayla	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	5197
Doug Branch (2yrs)	dbranch	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4483
Lilliette Smith (2yrs)	ljsmith	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4125
Clark McKinney (1yr)	cmckinney	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4574
Mark Moses (1yr)	mmoses	Developmental Studies	4434

# **Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats.** (Accountacy/Office Adm./Career Studies, Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Information Tech/Graphic Arts, Engineering Tech., Industrial and Environ. Tech.)

Jerry Redmond (2yrs)	jredmond	Information Tech., Graph. Arts.	4410
Gary Spencer (2yrs)	gspencer	Engineering Tech.	4404
Dale Railston (2yrs)	drailston	Indus & Environ Technologies	4152
Carl Heinrich (1yr)	cheinrich	Engineering Technologies	4152
Todd Blankenbeckler (1yr)	tblankenbeck	Information Tech., Graph. Arts	4677

### **Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats.** (Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health)

Bill Turner (2yr)	wturner	Mathematics	6023
David Brace (2yr)	dbrace	Allied Health	5405

Gerald Foon (1yr)	gfoon	Allied Health	5412
Lynda Miller (1yr)	lmiller	Natural Sciences	4447

## **Department Senators:**

Division: Business, Career Studies & Tech.

**Departments:** 

Linda Pope (1yr)

- a. Accountancy, Office Admin. & Career Studies
- b. Administration & Paralegal Studies
- c. Info. Tech. & Graphic Arts Tech.
- d. Engineering Technologies
- e. Indus & Environ Technologies

Sheridan Park (2yr)	spark	Accountancy/ Office Adm.	4682
Cristy Crabtree (2yr)	ccrabtree	Business Adm. and Paralegal St.	4668
Roger Schlichter(1r)	rschlichter	Information Tech./Graphic Arts	4144
Max Cutler (2yr)	mcutler	Engineering Tech.	4166
Carl Wagner (2yr)	cwagner	Industrial and Environ. Tech.	4160

Division: Liberal Studies & Edu Departments: a. Developmental Studi b. Fine Arts, Languages c. Education d. Social & Behavioral	ies s, and Literature		
Mickey Beloate (1yr)	mbeloate	Developmental Studies	6015
John Pritchard (1yr)	jpritchard	Fine Arts/Language and Literature	5645
Lafayette Gatewood (1yr)	lgatewood	Education.	5147
Mary Pratt (1yr)	mpratt	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just	6056
Division: Math, Natural Science Departments: a. Mathematics b. Natural Sciences c. Nursing d. Allied Health			
Tamara McColgan (2yr)	tmccolgan	Mathematics	5530
Bob Drake(2yr)	bdrake	Natural Sciences	4501
Loretta Regan (2yr)	lregan	Nursing	5447
	-		

Senators are exempt from serving on other standing committees.

lpope

## Membership of Faculty Senate Committees for 2003-2004

ACADEMIC MATTERS: Sarah Dunn (Chair), Carl Swoboda, Patsy Fancher, Ron Gephart, Leslie Peeples, Sarah Warrington, Clarence Christian, Lillie M. Jackson, Pat Keene

Allied Health

GRADE APPEALS: Sandy Shaw (Chair), Mary Vines, Virginia Melvin, Steve Katz, Sharron Smith, Larry Butts, Dewey Syker, Karen Webb (alternate).

FACULTY HANDBOOK: Victoria Gray, Tracy Freeman, Tracy Rusco, Douglas Smith (Chair), Phyllis Porter, Dagny Wright, Pat Foley

FACULTY DEVELOPMENT AND EVALUATION: Linda Lipinski (Assist. Chair), Georgia Whaley, Darius Wilson, Jane Santi, Vicki Robertson (Chair), Mary Pratt, Thurston Shrader, Janice Van Dyke, Donna Toole, Kathy

5056

Singleton, Evelyn Little;

**FACULTY WELFARE:** Clementee Whaley, Clair Berry, Vava Cook, Sam Chang, Carol Gazik, Sarah Dunn, Lois Washington, Don Thomas, Robert Tate, Liz Lawrence, Bridgett Smith, Rita Springer, Robert E. Whaley, Twyla Waters, Lee Smart

(AD HOC) SENATE SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE: to be appointed;

**ELECTION COMMITTEE:** to be appointed;

The following are College Standing Committees with specific Senate Relationships: (See Constitution.)

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE: liaison to be appointed;

**PROMOTION AND TENURE COMMITTEE:** to be appointed during the fall;

**READMISSION APPEALS:** to be appointed;