Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Macon Campus November 7, 2006

A. Call to Order and Roll Call The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by President Clark McKinney

The following Senators were present: M. Bodayla, L. Smith, J. Jongewaard, S. Johnson, G. Spencer, L. Smart, B. Turner, L. Peeples, J. Johnson. Y. Jones, L. Smith, S. Haley, D. Boland, L. Lewis, C. Wagner, S. Johnson, D. Branch, L. Regan, Y. Jones, T. Campbell, S. Haley, T. McColgan. D. Boland, L. Jones, M. Beloate

The following Senators were absent: S Dunn, J. Redmond

The following Senators sent Proxy Roma Magtoto, S. Brown, D. Smith

- B. Reading and Approval of Minutes The minutes were approved as written.
- C. Reports Senate Officers and Senate Committees

Lilliette Smith thanked her members of the subcommittee on the Constitution and By Laws. They met Nov. 6. Each of the Senate Division representatives will take the changes back to their divisions for approval and then faculty approval will be asked for. Faculty Senators were asked to sign the proposal for changing the by laws as stipulated in Article IV – Amendment procedures. She further recommended that Senators use written proxy whenever possible if they cannot attend the Senate meetings.

D. Old Business

TBR Handout. Clark reported from the latest TBR Subcouncil meeting. He addressed the issue of the common calendar, tuition caps not to be removed (recommendation to be sent to the Presidents Subcouncil), and faculty forums to be established.

Dr. Miller reported to Clark that the concerns about a Dean as reported in the last minutes will be taken to the President. Members of the division met with Clark and Dr. Miller and presented their concerns and she promised a remedy will be forthcoming before the next term. He also expressed the Faculty Senate's concern about the late graduation date.

F.	New	<b>Business</b>
F.	New	Business

Doug Branch expressed concern about MW classes in Developmental Studies. His department is concerned that they will be changed to MWF. Clark will report back at the next meeting.

Yvonne Jones expressed a concern about a class being changed at SE Center. Lilliette will look into this and report back.

G. Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 4:210

\*Senate Sharepoint Web Site: http://internal.southwest.tn.edu/fac-senate/

2006-2007 Senate				
President: Clark McKinne	y cmckinney	4574		
<b>Division Senators:</b>				
Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats.				
(Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and				
Behavioral				
Science/Criminal Justice)				
Mary Ann Bodayla (1yr)	mbodayla	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	5197	
Doug Branch (1yr)	dbranch	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4483	
Lilliette Smith (1yr)	ljsmith	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4125	
Jim Jongewaard (2yrs)	jjongewaard	Education	5833	
Stacey Johnson (2yrs)	smjohnson4	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4602	

Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats.(Accountacy/Office Adm./Career Studies, Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies,<br/>Information Tech/Graphic Arts, Engineering Tech., Industrial and Environ. Tech.)Jerry Redmond (1yr)jredmondInformation Tech., Graph. Arts.4410\_\_\_\_\_Gary Spencer (1yr)gspencerEngineering Tech.Lee Smart (2yrs)lsmartAccountancy/Office Adm.5076\_\_\_\_\_

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats. (Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health)

	,	, , , ,	
Bill Turner (1yr)	wturner	Mathematics	6023
Doug Smith (2yrs)	dsmith	Natural Sciences	4128
Shirley Brown (2yrs)	sbrown	Nursing	5425
Roma Magtoto (1yr)	rmagtoto	Nursing	5435
Department Senators:			

Division: Business, Career Studies & Tech. Departments:

- a. Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies
- b. Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgt.
- c. Engineering Technologies
- d. Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Leslie Peeples (1yr)	lpeeples	Off Adm/Info Tech & Hosp. Mgt.	4006
Lillie Lewis (1yr)	llewis	Accountancy	4547
Lisa Jones (1yr)	lgjones	Engineering Tech.	4983
Carl Wagner (1yr)	cwagner	Industrial and Environ. Tech.	4160

Division: Liberal Studies & Educat	ion		
Departments:			
a. Developmental Studies			
b. Fine Arts, Languages, and Literature			
c. Education			
d. Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice			
Mickey Beloate (2yrs)mbeloate Developmental Studies 6017			
Steve Haley (2yrs) shaley	Social/Behav. Sci./Crim Just	5635	
Toni Campbell (2yrs) tcampbell	Education.	5353	
Yvonne Jones (2yrs) yjones	Fine Arts/Language and Literature	5215	
Division Math Natural Saisnage	- Upolth Spinnag		

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences

- Departments: a. Mathematics
- b. Natural Sciences
- c. Nursing
- d. Allied Health m . McCal

) tmccolgan	Mathematics	5530
jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
lregan	Nursing	5447
dboland	Allied Health	5542
	jdjohnson7 lregan	8 8

" Senators are exempt from serving on other standing committees.