Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus May , 2007

A. Call to Order and Roll Call The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by President Clark McKinney

The following Senators were present: M. Bodayla, Lilliette Smith, G. Spencer, L. Smart, B. Turner, L. Peeples, S. Haley, C. Wagner, L. Regan, , D. Smith, B. Turner, R. Magtoto, C. Fowinkle, D. Branch, J. Johnson

The following Senators were absent: Jim Jongewaard, Y. Jones, S. Brown, Gloria Worthy, Lillie Lewis, Jerry Redmond, S. Johnson, D. Bolan, T. Campbell

The following Senators sent Proxy T. McColgan and L. Jones, Mickey Beloate, S Haley

- B. Reading and Approval of Minutes The minutes were amended to in the proposals concerning graduation. Gary Spencer moved Doug Smith seconded.
- C. Reports Senate Officers and Senate Committees

Academic Matters Committee submitted the attached report and it was presented to the senate by Tabitha Hughes. After discussion it was decided Clark will take up the issues with the TBR sub council since both of these matters are TBR polices.

Faculty Awards Leslie Peoples reported we have several candidates for each award except for community service and Joanne Bassett is getting applications.

Lilliett Smith reported the election results. All bylaw changes were approved. Clark McKinney was elected president and attached is slate of new senators. She also reported that voting was cumbersome and some new software is needed.

Clark McKinney presented his slate for Senate officers: Lilliette Smith Vice-President, Steve Haley, Secretary, Lee Smart, Treasurer and Tamara McColgan Parliamentarian.

Doug Smith moved the slate be approved and Joyce Johnson seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Clark reported that there are 16 applicants for vice provost. He also indicated that he had expressed to Dr. Essex's his concern that not enough faculty and no department chairs were on the committee. Dr. Essex agreed and added individuals accordingly. Dr. Essex's wants to provost in place by August.

F. New Business

Dr. Tosh

Dr. Tosh explained the need for rotating advisors to centers was twofold: need for continuous training and coverage during vacation and sick days. She addressed other issues as assignment of faculty as advisors. The nursing department's problem with 800 pre-nursing students with very few admitted to the program (discussions about hiring a full time pre-nursing advisor). The need for a banner degree audit screen. The registration screens in Banner being to lengthy. The ability for students to walk if they lack one course or there is a problem with the degree qualifications (Thalia Wilson and Barbara wells can help get approved only not the degree auditor). Also she was asked and discussed administrative withdrawal of student "no shows". As well as policies for a disruptive students And conflicts in the classroom and she said the policies in the hand book would be more widely explained especially to new students.

Lilliette Smith recognized new senators. She then presented Clark an award of appreciation from the senate.

Clark recognized Gary Spencer for the recognition he received and that it reflected favorably on the college. All the senate gave him a round of applause.

G. Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 4:40

*Senate Sharepoint Web Site: http://internal.southwest.tn.edu/fac-senate/

2006-2007 Senate President: Clark McKinney cmckinney

4574

Division Senators: Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats. (Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice)

Mary Ann Bodayla (1yr)	mbodayla	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	5197
Doug Branch (1yr)	dbranch	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4483
Lilliette Smith (1yr)	ljsmith	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4125
Jim Jongewaard (2yrs)	jjongewaard	Education	5833
Stacey Johnson (2yrs)	smjohnson4	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4602

Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats. (Accountacy/Office Adm./Career Studies, Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Information Tech/Graphic Arts, Engineering Tech., Industrial and Environ. Tech.)

Jerry Redmond (1yr) jredmond	Information Tech., Graph. Arts.	4410
Gary Spencer (1yr) gspencer	Engineering Tech.	4404
Lee Smart (2yrs) lsmart	Accountancy/ Office Adm.	5076
Cindy Fowinkle (1 yr) cfowinkle	Engineering Tech	4150
Gloria Worthy (2 yr) gworthy	Acountancy/Office Adm	

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats. (Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health)

Bill Turner (1yr)	wturner	Mathematics	6023
Doug Smith (2yrs)	dsmith	Natural Sciences	4128
Shirley Brown (2yrs)	sbrown	Nursing	5425
Roma Magtoto (1yr)	rmagtoto	Nursing	5435

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Tech.

Departments:

a. Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies

b. Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgt.

- c. Engineering Technologies
- d. Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Leslie Peeples (1yr)	lpeeples	Off Adm/Info Tech & Hosp. Mgt.	4006
Lillie Lewis (1yr)	llewis	Accountancy	4547
Lisa Jones (1yr)	lgjones	Engineering Tech.	4983
Carl Wagner (1yr)	cwagner	Industrial and Environ. Tech.	4160

Division: Liberal Studies & Education Departments:

a. Developmental Studies

- b. Fine Arts, Languages, and Literature
- c. Education
- d. Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice

Mickey Beloate (2yrs)mbeloate	Developmental Studies	6017
Steve Haley (2yrs) shaley	Social/Behav. Sci./Crim Just	5635
Toni Campbell (2yrs) tcampbell	Education.	5353
Yvonne Jones (2yrs) yjones	Fine Arts/Language and Literature	5215

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences Departments:

- a. Mathematics
- b. Natural Sciences
- c. Nursingd. Allied Health

Tamara McColgan (1yr)) tmccolgan	Mathematics	5530
Joyce Johnson (2yrs)	jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
Loretta Regan (1yr)	lregan	Nursing	5447
Delores Boland (2yrs)	dboland	Allied Health	5542

Senators are exempt from serving on other standing committees.