Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Macon Campus October 3, 2007

A. Call to Order and Roll Call The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Secretary Steve Haley

The following Senators were present:

G. Spencer, L. Smart, L. Peeples, S. Haley, D. Smith, D. Branch, S. Johnson C. Whaley, S. Brown, M. Beloate, T. Campbell, T. McColgan, J. Johnson, Jerry Redmond, Bill Turner, Joan Mackechnie, Delores Boland,

The following Senators were absent: Lillie Lewis, Tracy Rusco, Gloria Worthy, J. Jongewaard, Carl Wagner, R. Magtoto, , Y. Jones, C. Fowinkle

The following Senators sent Proxy L. Smith, Clark McKinney, Lisa Jones, J. Harris

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

D. Boland moved and Doug Branch seconded to approve the minutes as read.

C. Reports - Senate Officers and Senate Committees

Graduation issue – Lee Smart reported the SEC met with Dr.Tosh about the status of graduation. At present graduation is scheduled for May 3, 2008 at the DeSoto Center, however, Dr. Tosh agreed to take the Senate recommendation for division graduations to the senior committee and to investigate Shelby Farms as a possible location if this were implemented.

D. Old Business

Steve Haley reported that Janice Van Dyke had been asked to chair the Faculty Awards ad hoc committee and she was taking this under consideration.

Steve Haley reported that all committee's were filled with a few exceptions. He also noted the FDC committee was in place and that Twalya was meeting with the committee to select a new chair. E. New Business

Steve read a report from Lilliette Smith on planned workshops this month and said that since she had taken a new position with the college working on Faculty development she would give a report next months on new plans for the year.

Steve circulated for review and input per Clark's request the TBR book policy.

Doug Smith brought up parking at Macon specifically that faculty and handicapped parking was being ignored with the chaotic parking situation at Macon. Steve agreed to notify Clark.

G. Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 3:30

*Senate Sharepoint Web Site: http://internal.southwest.tn.edu/fac-senate/

2007-2008 Senate President: Clark McKinney cmckinney

4574

Division Senators: Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats. (Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice)

Jane Harris (2 yrs)	maharris	Fine Arts/Lang Lit	4246
Doug Branch 2yrs)	dbranch	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4483
Lilliette Smith (2yrs)	ljsmith	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4125
Jim Jongewaard (1yr)	jjongewaard	Education	5833
Stacey Johnson (1yr)	smjohnson4	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4602

Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats. (Accountacy/Office Adm./Career Studies, Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Information Tech/Graphic Arts, Engineering Tech., Industrial and Environ. Tech.)

Jerry Redmond (2yrs)	jredmond	Information Tech., Graph. Arts.	4410
Gary Spencer (2yrs)	gspencer	Engineering Tech.	4404
Lee Smart (1yr)	lsmart	Accountancy/ Office Adm	5076
Clemetee Whaley (2 yrs)) cwhaley	Information Tech – Prog	4516

Gloria Worthy (1yr) gworthy Acountancy/Office Adm

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats.

(Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health)

Bill Turner (2yrs)	wturner	Mathematics	6023
Doug Smith (1yr)	dsmith	Natural Sciences	4128
Shirley Brown (1yr)	sbrown	Nursing	5425
Tracy Rusco (2 yrs)	trusco	Natural Sciences	6094

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Tech.

Departments:

a. Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies

b. Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgt.

c. Engineering Technologies

d. Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Leslie Peeples (2yrs)	lpeeples	Off Adm/Info Tech & Hosp. Mgt.	4006
Lillie Lewis (2yrs)	llewis	Accountancy	4547
Lisa Jones (2yrs)	lgjones	Engineering Tech.	4983
Carl Wagner (2yrs)	cwagner	Industrial and Environ. Tech.	4160

Division: Liberal Studies & Education Departments:

a. Developmental Studies

b. Fine Arts, Languages, and Literature

- c. Education
- d. Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice

Mickey Beloate (1yr)	mbeloate	Developmental Studies	6017
Steve Haley (1yr)	shaley	Social/Behav Sci./Crim Just	5635
Toni Campbell (1yr)	tcampbell	Education.	5353
Yvonne Jones (1yr)	yjones	Fine Arts/Language and Literature	5215

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences

Departments:

- a. Mathematics
- b. Natural Sciences
- c. Nursing
- d. Allied Health

Tamara McColgan (2yrs)	tmccolga	Mathematics	5530
Joyce Johnson (1yr)	jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
Joan Mackechnie (2 yrs)	jmackechnie	Nursing	5432

Delores Boland (1yr) dboland Allied Health 5542

Senators are exempt from serving on other standing committees.