Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus April 1, 2008

### A. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Lilliette Smith

The following Senators were present:

L. Smart, L. Peeples, S. Haley, D. Branch, S. Johnson, T. McColgan, J. Johnson, J. Redmond, J. Jongewaard, S. Johnson, C., Vava Cook J. Mackechnie, Clark McKinney, Amy Cox, Amy Wadell, Dorey Sims-Green, Michelle Gietz

The following Senators were absent:

L. Lewis, G. Worthy, Yvonne Jones, C. Whaley,

The following Senators sent Proxy

D. Boland, B. Turner, G. Spencer, Carl Wagner M. Beloate, Sindie Abadie, J.Harris

# B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

Tamara McColgan moved and Doug Branch seconded to approve the minutes as read.

## C. Old Business

Faculty Awards – We still need ad hoc committee to revise. Lilliette said it should be on September agenda. Again we had trouble getting nominees for all the categories.

Senate Elections – Lilliette briefed the Senate on elections and said the use of "Monkey" was very user friendly thanks to the efforts of Lisa Hendrickson. Lilliette introduced new senators. Lilliette asked the department reps to send a summary report of the senate meetings to their department faculty within one week of the meeting.

Parliamentary Procedure-Tamara reminded everyone to submit motions to the secretary in writing.

Faculty Welfare committee gave report which include three areas. They reported salary equity seemed to be "equitable" based on a survey, the faculty felt the behavioral seminars were good, and finally they submitted report on grade appeals.

#### D. New Business

Steve Haley presented his recommendation to the senate of the 2008-09 executive committee.

Vice President Lilliette Smith Secretary Lee Smart Treasurer Jerry Redmond Parliamentarian Tamara McColgan

Clark McKinney moved and Vava Cook seconded to accept Steve's recommendation of the 2008-09 SEC. The motion passed.

Goals for the new year submitted by Steve Haley, President elect:

- Good communication with Senior Staff
- Finalization, with senate approval, of faculty evaluation document
- Merit pay recommendation from faculty development committee

A discussion ensued about Longevity pay being on a separate payroll to minimize the amount of payroll taxes withheld. Lee smart agreed to contact Yolanda Smith to see if this is possible and report back at next meeting.

Clark McKinney gave a summary of the TBR subcommittee report.

There was a discussion about the committee to develop a new one page evaluation document chaired by John Kendall. The faculty development committee should have input about merit pay. Either Steve or Lilliette will attend meetings.

Dean Status – Steve Haley announced that the decision to eliminate Division Deans for a Dean of Instruction was final according to the President.

## G. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 PM

\*Senate Sharepoint Web Site: http://internal.southwest.tn.edu/fac-senate/

2008-2009 Senate

President: Steve Haley <u>shaley@southwest.tn.edu</u> 5635

### **Division Senators:**

Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats.

(Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral

Science/Criminal Justice)

Jane Harris (08-09)	maharris	Fine Arts/Lang Lit	4246
Doug Branch (08-09)	dbranch	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4483
Lilliette Smith (08-09)	ljsmith	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4125
Marjorie Dernaika(08-10)	mderernaika	Developmental Studies	4474
Darcy Sims-Green (08-10	) dsgree	Sci/Crim Justice	4278

Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats. (Accountacy/Office Adm./Career Studies, Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Information Tech/Graphic Arts, Engineering Tech., Industrial and Environ.Tech.)

Jerry Redmond(08-09)	jredmond	Information Tech., Graph. Arts.	4410
Michelle Gietz (08-10)	mgietz	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5490
Lee Smart (08-10)	lsmart	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5076
Clemetee Whaley(08-09)cwhaley		Information Tech – Prog	4516
Sinde Abadie (08-10)	csabadie	Business/Acct/Paralegal	4409

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats. (Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health)

Bill Turner(08-09)	wturner	Mathematics	6023
Amy Cox(08-10)	acox	Allied Health	5390
Jason Jennings(08-10	))jbjennings	Natural Sciences	5679
Amy Waddell(08-10	) awadell	Natural Sciences	5224

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Tech.

# Departments:

- a. Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies
- b. Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgt.
- c. Engineering Technologies
- d. Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Leslie Peeples(08-09) lpeeples	Off Adm/Info Tech & Hosp.	4006
Lillie Lewis (08-09) llewis	Business/Acct/Paralegal	4547
Cindy Fowinkle(08-09)lkfowinkle	Engineering Tech.	4665
Carl Wagner (08-09) cwagner	Industrial and Environ. Tech.	4160

Division: Liberal Studies & Education

Departments:

- a. Developmental Studies
- b. FineArts, Languages, and Literature
- c. Education
- d. Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice

Mickey Beloate(08-09)mbeloate	Developmental Studies	6017
Vava Cook(08-10) vcook	Educationm	5347
Clark McKinne(08-10) cmckinney	Social Sciences/Behav Sci	5347
Yvonne Jones(08-09) yjones	Fine Arts/Language and Literature	5215

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences

Departments:

- a. Mathematics
- b. Natural Sciences
- c. Nursing
- d. Allied Health

Tamara McColgan(08-09 tmccolga	Mathematics	5530
Joyce Johnson(08-10) jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
Joan Mackechnie (08-09) jmackechnie	Nursing	5432
Delores Boland(08-10) dboland	Allied Health	5542

Senators are exempt from serving on other standing committees.