Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus February 5, 2008

A. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Lilliette Smith

The following Senators were present:

G. Spencer, L. Smart, L. Peeples, S. Haley, D. Branch, S. Johnson

S. Brown, T. McColgan, J. Johnson, Bill Turner, Joan Mackechnie, L. Smith,

The following Senators were absent:

Lillie Lewis, Gloria Worthy, J. Jongewaard, R. Magtoto, , Y. Jones, C. Fowinkle, T. Campbell, Y. Jones, L. Jones, J. Redmond, S. Johnson, J. Jongewaard, C. Whaley, G. Worthy

The following Senators sent Proxy J. Harris, D. Smith, C. Wagner, M. Beloate, D. Boland

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

Lee Smart moved and Tamara McColgan seconded to approve the minutes as read.

C. Old Business

Steve Haley reported that Mickey Beloate had agreed to chair the Faculty Awards Committee. Leslie Peeples reported a time line has been agreed upon and will be sent out by email to the faculty along with the procedure and applications.

Bill Turner Passed out a handout on the Senate Election time line. There was a feeling that we needed to rotate members within the divisions so that not all members would retire at the same time. Department representatives will be determined by Feb. 18 and the Division representatives will be elected. The Division reps for Liberal Studies were all rotating off so we asked Mickey Beloate and Yvonne Jones to stay another year so we could stager the terms. The Division of Business, Career Studies, and Technology also had the same problem so we asked Lisa Jones to go off so we could stager there also. The election of Division reps and Senate President will be held March 10-17.

E. New Business

Gwen Aldridge the new Director of Assessment spoke to the Senate on her work at the college, especially regarding student evaluations. She hopes to come up with a singe page assessment done in hours so to eliminate the IDEA assessments we currently use.

Steve circulated Clark McKinney's handouts on his TBR Subcouncil meeting in January.

Faculty Historian – Lilliette Smith informed the Senate that the SEC would contact the library to see about book contributions. She will discuss with the library the possibility of crating a section to hold these.

Emergency Notification System – Lee Smart had requested we discuss this in light of the shooting near campus but since it has already been established no discussion was needed.

SEC Meeting with Provost – Lilliette Smith reported on a meeting the SEC had with Dr. Bassett. She passed out a handout summarizing the meeting:

- 1. Declining Enrollment The SEC recommended not allowing new students to enroll after late registration without department heads permission. There may be an offer to pay faculty for advising during Summer second term. Doug Smith suggested the reason for the decline might be due to lack of open classes. Lilliette agreed to pass this on to the Provost. Shirley Brown raised the issue of a lack of qualified teacher in certain areas.
- 2. Student evaluations For tenured instructors we will evaluate one time a year, two classes (one picked by the instructor and the other by the department head). For non-tenured faculty it will be twice a year.
- 3. Evaluation of Administration We will evaluate our administration as of March of this year.
- 4. Ad hoc committee for evaluation of instructors There is a committee currently working to develop a new system. It will turn over its document to our Faculty Evaluation and Development Committee who will then submit their recommendation to the Senate. We are hoping to finalize this by May of this term, but it may be held over depending on time.

Leslie Peeples – Leslie brought up the issue of travel funding. It is a problem getting funds from Faculty Development Committee because no funds are available through the departments. The SEC will look into the matter.

G. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:05

*Senate Sharepoint Web Site: http://internal.southwest.tn.edu/fac-senate/

President: Clark McKinney cmckinney

Division Senators:

Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats.

(Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral

4574

Science/Criminal Justice)

Jane Harris (2 yrs)	maharris	Fine Arts/Lang Lit	4246
Doug Branch 2yrs)	dbranch	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4483
Lilliette Smith (2yrs)	ljsmith	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4125
Jim Jongewaard (1yr)	jjongewaard	Education	5833
Stacey Johnson (1yr)	smjohnson4	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4602

Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats. (Accountacy/Office Adm./Career Studies, Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Information Tech/Graphic Arts, Engineering Tech., Industrial and Environ. Tech.)

jredmond	Information Tech., Graph. Arts.	4410
gspencer	Engineering Tech.	4404
lsmart	Accountancy/ Office Adm	5076
) cwhaley	Information Tech – Prog	4516
gworthy	Acountancy/Office Adm	4409
	gspencer lsmart cwhaley	lsmart Accountancy/ Office Adm cwhaley Information Tech – Prog

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats. (Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health)

Bill Turner (2yrs)	wturner	Mathematics	6023
Doug Smith (1yr)	dsmith	Natural Sciences	4128
Shirley Brown (1yr)	sbrown	Nursing	5425
Tracy Rusco (2 yrs)	trusco	Natural Sciences	6094

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Tech.

Departments:

- a. Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies
- b. Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgt.
- c. Engineering Technologies
- d. Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Leslie Peeples (2yrs) lpeeples Off Adm/Info Tech & Hosp. Mgt. 4006

Lillie Lewis (2yrs)	llewis	Accountancy	4547
Lisa Jones (2yrs)	lgjones	Engineering Tech.	4983
Carl Wagner (2yrs)	cwagner	Industrial and Environ. Tech.	4160

Division: Liberal Studies & Education

Departments:

- a. Developmental Studies
- b. Fine Arts, Languages, and Literature
- c. Education
- d. Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice

Mickey Beloate (1yr)	mbeloate	Developmental Studies	6017
Steve Haley (1yr)	shaley	Social/Behav Sci./Crim Just	5635
Toni Campbell (1yr)	tcampbell	Education.	5353
Yvonne Jones (1yr)	yjones	Fine Arts/Language and Literature	5215

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences

Departments:

- a. Mathematics
- b. Natural Sciences
- c. Nursing
- d. Allied Health

Tamara McColgan (2yrs)	tmccolga	Mathematics	5530
Joyce Johnson (1yr)	jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
Joan Mackechnie (2 yrs)	jmackechnie	Nursing	5432
Delores Boland (1yr)	dboland	Allied Health	5542

Senators are exempt from serving on other standing committees.