Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus March 11, 2008

A. Call to Order and Roll Call The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Lilliette Smith

> The following Senators were present: L. Smart, L. Peeples, S. Haley, D. Branch, S. Johnson, T. McColgan, J. Johnson, C. Fowinkle, J. Redmond, M. Beloate, J. Jongewaard, S. Johnson, C. Whaley, J. Harris, L. Peeples

The following Senators were absent: L. Lewis, G. Worthy, L. Jones, C. Whaley, C. Wagner, D. Smith

The following Senators sent Proxy D. Boland, B. Turner, S. Brown, J. Mackechnie, G. Spencer

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

Lee Smart moved and Tamara McColgan seconded to approve the minutes as read.

C. Old Business

Faculty Awards – Mickey briefed the Senate on the faculty awards ceremony on April 25 at 11:00 in the gym on Union Campus. He asked Department reps to ask for more nominations. Jane wondered about a plaque with the names of previous Farris winners. Lilliette said we would talk to the Provost. Nominations for awards will be moved back to March 21.

Senate Elections – Lilliette briefed the Senate on elections. She asked for comments from the Senate on how the process was going. There were none. She thanked her committee for their work (Joyce, Bill, and Toni).

E. New Business

Middle College Feedback - The President appointed an advisory committee. Lilliette passed out a handout on the charge. Jerry Redmond summarized his success with the high school in the past. He sees leadership and accountability as crucial to their success at the college. He recommended there be a joint

	provost to oversee the conduct of the MCHS. Lilliette will take feedback to the committee. She asked Department reps to send comments to her.			
	Dean Status – Steve Haley announced that we would move away from Division Deans to a Dean of Instruction according to the President by the Fall term.			
	Yvonne Jones talked about the International Committee and its role.			
G.	Adjournment The meeting wa	s adjourned at 3	3:50	
*Senate Sharepoint Web Site: http://internal.southwest.tn.edu/fac-senate/				
2007-2008 SenatePresident: Lilliette Smithlsmith@southwest.tn.edu4125				
Division Senators: Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats. (Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice)				
Jane Harr	is (2 yrs)	maharris	Fine Arts/Lang Lit	4246

Jane Harris (2 yrs)	manarits	I me Arts/Lang Lit	7270
Doug Branch 2yrs)	dbranch	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4483
Lilliette Smith (2yrs)	ljsmith	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4125
Jim Jongewaard (1yr)	jjongewaard	Education	5833
Stacey Johnson (1yr)	smjohnson4	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4602

Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats. (Accountacy/Office Adm./Career Studies, Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Information Tech/Graphic Arts, Engineering Tech., Industrial and Environ. Tech.)

Jerry Redmond (2yrs)	jredmond	Information Tech., Graph. Arts.	4410
Gary Spencer (2yrs)	gspencer	Engineering Tech.	4404
Lee Smart (1yr)	lsmart	Accountancy/ Office Adm	5076
Clemetee Whaley (2 yrs)) cwhaley	Information Tech – Prog	4516
Gloria Worthy (1yr)	gworthy	Acountancy/Office Adm	4409

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats. (Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health)

Bill Turner (2yrs)	wturner	Mathematics	6023
Doug Smith (1yr)	dsmith	Natural Sciences	4128
Shirley Brown (1yr)	sbrown	Nursing	5425
Tracy Rusco (2 yrs)	trusco	Natural Sciences	6094

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Tech.

Departments:

- a. Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies
- b. Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgt.
- c. Engineering Technologies
- d. Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Leslie Peeples (2yrs)	lpeeples	Off Adm/Info Tech & Hosp. Mgt.	4006
Lillie Lewis (2yrs)	llewis	Accountancy	4547
Lisa Jones (2yrs)	lgjones	Engineering Tech.	4983
Carl Wagner (2yrs)	cwagner	Industrial and Environ. Tech.	4160

```
Division: Liberal Studies & Education
```

Departments:

- a. Developmental Studies
- b. Fine Arts, Languages, and Literature
- c. Education
- d. Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice

Mickey Beloate (1yr)	mbeloate	Developmental Studies	6017
Steve Haley (1yr)	shaley	Social/Behav Sci./Crim Just	5635
Toni Campbell (1yr)	tcampbell	Education.	5353
Yvonne Jones (1yr)	yjones	Fine Arts/Language and Literature	5215

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences Departments:

- a. Mathematics
- b. Natural Sciences
- c. Nursing
- d. Allied Health

Tamara McColgan (2yrs)	tmccolga	Mathematics	5530
Joyce Johnson (1yr)	jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
Joan Mackechnie (2 yrs)	jmackechnie	Nursing	5432
Delores Boland (1yr)	dboland	Allied Health	5542

Senators are exempt from serving on other standing committees.