Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Macon Campus February 3, 2009

#### A. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Steve Haley, president.

The following Senators were present:

L. Smart, L. Peeples, Lilliette Smith, S. Haley, J. Johnson, Vava Cook J. Mackechnie, Amy Cox, , Clemetee Whaley, Bill Turner, Lillie Lewis, Cindy Fowinkle, , Michelle Gietz, Vava Cook, Dale Railston, Clark McKinney, Sindy Abadie, Amy Waddell, and Jane Harris

The following Senators sent a Proxy:

T. McColgan, Mickey Beloate, and Jason Jennings

The following Senators were absent:

Marjorie Dernaika, Darcey Sims-Green, Delores Boland, D. Branch, Pam Jones, and Yvonne Jones

## B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

There was a motion and a second to approve the minutes as read.

Correction, Clark McKinney and Jane Harris were in attendance at the December meeting and omitted from the December minutes.

### C. Old Business

Steve Haley reported that the faculty evaluation instrument is being piloted this semester. The department heads and division managers had no modifications.

Clark McKinney recapped info from the Sub Council. This info was extensive and is available by request from Clark. He did add to his report that the TBR has hired a consulting firm to assist in the Human Capital aspects of budget reductions.

### D. New Business

Steve reported on our meeting in December with Deberry. He is on our side and listened to our discussion, but it was discovered latter that his help would be limited.

Steve Haley discussed the budget crisis the college is facing the college. He said the specific budget cuts would not be known until it was submitted to TBR in March.

Steve indicated that the retirement buyout package similar to U of M looked positive; however, he indicated it would probably be opened to everyone.

There should be a decision in March by TBR and those who choose the buyout would retire effective July 1.

.

Steve also reported that the TBR's proposals to remove tuition caps, allow furloughs and reduce bonuses have been approved.

After these general comments a lengthy discussion on budget issues, as well as, faculty pay and equity were discussed. These included everything from what should be cut, to what 12 month faculty wanted from the senate to a discussion about equity. One thing that was agreed on by all was put in a motion by Michelle Gietz. Michelle moved that the administration be sent a memo stating that until the instructional budget (general ed) is increased (from the lowest in the state at 42%) to equal to average in the state there should be no cuts to STCC faculty budget. After a second the motion was unanimously approved.

With this motion in mind there were many recommendations about what else should be put in the memo. Since the hour was late Steve asked if a task force could be used to construct the memo based on all the discussion. With general consensus a task force of Lillette Smith, Lee Smart, Dale Railston and Charles Bryant was charged with composing a letter to the administration to express the faculty senate's position on Faculty equity and pay issues with recommendations. The task forces memo once composed will be sent to the entire faculty senate for approval since we do not have another meeting prior to the March deadline. This was agreed to by all.

Lillette anounounced the election process for senators would be started with a letter to the department heads this month. The election committee chaired by Lillette will be Joyce Johnson, Bill Turner, Clementee Whaley and Vava Cook

## E Adjournment

A motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting at 4:50 P.M.

\*Senate Sharepoint Web Site: http://internal.southwest.tn.edu/fac-senate/

2008-2009 Senate

President: Steve Haley shaley@southwest.tn.edu 5635

**Division Senators:** 

Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats.

(Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral

Science/Criminal Justice)

Jane Harris (08-09)	maharris	Fine Arts/Lang Lit	4246
Doug Branch (08-09)	dbranch	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4483
Lilliette Smith (08-09)	ljsmith	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4125
Marjorie Dernaika(08-10)	mderernaika	Developmental Studies	4474

Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats. (Accountacy/Office Adm./Career Studies, Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Information Tech/Graphic Arts, Engineering Tech., Industrial and Environ.Tech.)

Jerry Redmond(08-09)	jredmond	Information Tech., Graph. Arts.	4410
Michelle Gietz (08-10)	mgietz	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5668
Lee Smart (08-10)	lsmart	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5076
Clemetee Whaley(08-09)cwhaley		Information Tech – Prog	4516
Sinde Abadie (08-10)	csabadie	Business/Acct/Paralegal	4409

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats. (Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health)

Bill Turner(08-09)	wturner	Mathematics	6023
Amy Cox(08-10)	acox	Allied Health	5390
Jason Jennings(08-1	0)jbjennings	Natural Sciences	5679
Amy Waddell(08-10	) awaddell	Natural Sciences	5224

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Tech.

### Departments:

- a. Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies
- b. Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgt.
- c. Engineering Technologies
- d. Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Leslie Peeples(08-09) lpeeples	Off Adm/Info Tech & Hosp.	4006
Lillie Lewis (08-09) llewis	Business/Acct/Paralegal	4547
Cindy Fowinkle(08-09)lkfowinkle	Engineering Tech.	4665
Dale Railston (08-09) drailston	Industrial and Environ. Tech.	4160

Division: Liberal Studies & Education

Departments:

- a. Developmental Studies
- b. FineArts, Languages, and Literature
- c. Education
- d. Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice

Mickey Beloate(08-09)mbeloate	Developmental Studies	6017
Vava Cook(08-10) vcook	Educationm	5347
Clark McKinne(08-10) cmckinney	Social Sciences/Behav Sci	5347
Yvonne Jones (08-09) yjones	Fine Arts/Language and Literature	5215

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences

Departments:

- a. Mathematics
- b. Natural Sciences
- c. Nursing

# d. Allied Health

Tamara McColgan(08-0	9 tmccolga	Mathematics	5530
Joyce Johnson(08-10)	jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
Pam Jones (08-09)	pljones	Nursing	5439
Delores Boland(08-10)	dboland	Allied Health	5542

Senators are exempt from serving on other standing committees.