Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus March 3, 2009

A. Call to Order and Roll Call The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Steve Haley, president.

The following Senators were present:

L. Smart, L. Peeples, S. Haley, J. Johnson, Vava Cook , Amy Cox, Clemetee Whaley, Bill Turner, , Cindy Fowinkle, Clark McKinney, Sindy Abadie, Amy Waddell, Jane Harris, Yvonne Jones, T. McColgan, Mickey Beloate, Jason Jennings, Darcey Sims-Green, The following Senators sent a Proxy: Lilliette Smith, Michelle Gietz, Dale Railston, Marjorie Dernaika, D. Branch The following Senators were absent: Delores Boland, Pam Jones, and Lillie Lewis

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

There was a motion and a second to approve the minutes as read.

C. Old Business

Clark McKinney recapped information from the TBR. The Chancellor's Business model has been rescinded. Also the search for a new Chancellor has been suspended based on the economic crisis and it is anticipated Manning will remain for the time being.

D. New Business

Steve Haley discussed the budget crisis the college is facing. He said the specific budget cuts again are unsure because it is not known if and how much the stimulus will effect the college's budget.

Steve indicated that the retirement buyout package similar to U of M still looks positive; however, he indicated it would probably be opened to everyone. There should be a decision in March by TBR and those who choose the buyout would retire effective July 1. Steve indicated the savings could be very significant to the college depending on how many are allowed to participate.

Steve then shared the survey that is to be sent to all college employees concerning across the board pay cuts as information about what if forthcoming.

After these general comments a lengthy discussion on budget issues, as well as, faculty pay and equity were discussed. To begin the discussion Steve Haley recapped what has taken place since the last meeting. Basically he said that a lot of communication has taken place via e mail since the last meeting and it was decided that no action should be taken until all issues were discussed in an open forum at this meeting.

Two proposals were then put in the form of motions. The first was proposed by Cindy Fowinkle via a memo read by Dale Railston and provided in writing by Clemetee Whaley. The proposed memo is attached. This memo basically supports the #1 task force memo's but strengthens the support by the senate of 12 month contracts and includes a paragraph supporting 9 month faculty getting 2 summer classes.

The second was provided by Tamara Mclogan that was supported by a memo read to the senate from Michelle Gietz (Michelle was teaching a class). Michelle clarified the intent of the motion she proposed at the last meeting that the administration be sent a memo stating that until the instructional budget (general ed) is increased (from the lowest in the state at 42%) to equal to average in the state there should be no cuts to STCC faculty budget. Her memo is also attached.

With these two motions in mind there was much discussion about the merits of each proposal. Steve let each senator express his concerns and support pro and con each proposal. He expressed the need for a total airing of the issues to ensure all faculty are unified. All agreed unity would be more beneficial to the faculty as a whole. It was pointed out that no faculty pay cuts may be necessary based on the new events in the financial picture and the need for faculty in an increased enrollment environment. A faculty member suggested that we could revisit the issue if faculty budget cuts became obvious.

The vote on the issue was taken after no more discussion was obvious. The vote for the second proposal (based on the Gietz memo) was approved with a vote of 17-5.

Joyce Johnson and Bill Turner reported on the election process for senators. They reported that the department reps had been selected and a letter had been sent to the dean's for division reps. A letter is in the process to faculty for nominations. The election process will go forward according to schedule. The slate so far was handed out by Joyce. The election committee will be chaired by Joyce Johnson and Bill Turner in Lillette's absence, with Clemetee Whaley and Vava Cook comprising the committee.

## E Adjournment

A motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting at 4:00 P.M.

\*Senate Sharepoint Web Site: http://internal.southwest.tn.edu/fac-senate/

2008-2009 SenatePresident: Steve Haleyshaley@southwest.tn.edu5635

Division Senators: Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats. (Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice)

Jane Harris (08-09)	maharris	Fine Arts/Lang Lit	4246
Doug Branch (08-09)	dbranch	Fine Arts/Lang. and Lit.	4483
Lilliette Smith (08-09)	ljsmith	Social Behav. Sci./Crim. Just.	4125
Marjorie Dernaika(08-10)	mderernaika	Developmental Studies	4474
Darcy Sims-Green (08-10	) dsgree	Sci/Crim Justice	4278

Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats. (Accountacy/Office Adm./Career Studies, Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Information Tech/Graphic Arts, Engineering Tech., Industrial and Environ.Tech.)

Jerry Redmond(08-09)	jredmond	Information Tech., Graph. Arts.	4410
Michelle Gietz (08-10)	mgietz	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5668
Lee Smart (08-10)	lsmart	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5076
Clemetee Whaley(08-09)cwhaley		Information Tech – Prog	4516
Sinde Abadie (08-10)	csabadie	Business/Acct/Paralegal	4409

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats. (Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health)

Bill Turner(08-09)	wturner	Mathematics	6023
Amy Cox(08-10)	acox	Allied Health	5390
Jason Jennings(08-10	))jbjennings	Natural Sciences	5679
Amy Waddell(08-10	) awaddell	Natural Sciences	5224
Department Constan			

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Tech.

Departments:

a. Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies

b. Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgt.

- c. Engineering Technologies
- d. Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Leslie Peeples(08-09) lpeeples	Off Adm/Info Tech & Hosp.	4006
Lillie Lewis (08-09) llewis	Business/Acct/Paralegal	4547
Cindy Fowinkle(08-09)lkfowinkle	Engineering Tech.	4665
Dale Railston (08-09) drailston	Industrial and Environ. Tech.	4160

Division: Liberal Studies & Education

Departments:

a. Developmental Studies

- b. FineArts, Languages, and Literature
- c. Education

d. Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice

Mickey Beloate(08-09)mbeloate	Developmental Studies	6017
Vava Cook(08-10) vcook	Educationm	5347
Clark McKinne(08-10) cmckinney	Social Sciences/Behav Sci	5347
Yvonne Jones(08-09) yjones	Fine Arts/Language and Literature	5215

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences Departments: a. Mathematics b. Natural Sciences c. Nursing d. Allied Health

Tamara McColgan(08-09	etmccolga	Mathematics	5530
Joyce Johnson(08-10)	jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
Pam Jones (08-09)	pljones	Nursing	5439
Delores Boland(08-10)	dboland	Allied Health	5542

Senators are exempt from serving on other standing committees.