Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus April 6, 2010

### A. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Steve Haley, president.

The following Senators were present:

Lee Smart, Leslie Peeples, Steve Haley, Joyce Johnson, Bill Turner, Sindy Abadie, Jason Jennings, Darcey Sims-Green, Marjorie Dernaika, , Joan McGrory, Mahnaz Ghaffarian, John Prichard, Stephen Williams, Jody Couch, Amy Waddell, William Weppner, Ron Gephardt, Michael Scott

The following Senators sent a Proxy: Jason Whitt, Vava Cook

The following Senators were absent: Dale Railston, Delores Boland, Pam Jones, Arnitria Taylor

# B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

There was a motion and a second to approve the minutes.

# C. Reports from Senate Officers and Committees

Sindy Abadie reported on the Faculty awards and indicated the there were candidates for every category. The selection committee, represented by University of Memphis faculty, is in place and the timeline is moving forward as planned.

## D. Old Business

Steve Haley reported that Nevin Robbins informed Lee Smart that the faculty evaluations of Department heads and above was in place and would go out in April. The process will include evaluation of three levels Department chairs, Deans and the Provost. Some discussion ensued on the instrument for evaluation. Steve reminded the senators that the instrument was jointly constructed between the administration and the senate and that the senate had final approval. Any modifications would be an agenda item for next year.

## E. New Business

After thanking the senators for their assistance during his years of service, Steve Haley turned the meeting over to Joyce Johnson who will be the incoming faculty senate president.

Joyce entertained a motion concerning next year's executive committee. A motion was made and approved to accept the following slate for the 2010-2011 executive committee:

Jason Whitt, Vice President Lee Smart, Secretary Bill Turner, Treasure Sindie Abadie, Parlimentarian

Joyce made some comments about the next year' goals and challenges.

The next meeting will be in the fall on the Macon campus assuming no major issues come up that will create a need for a May meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00.

# 2009-2010 Senate

President: Steve Haley <u>shaley@southwest.tn.edu</u> 5635

## **Division Senators**

#### Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats. Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice Senator Term email **Department** Ext. Ron Gephardt (09-11)Fine Arts, Languages 5159 rgephart **Ruthie Couch Developmental Studies** 4608 (09-11)icouch (09-11)Michael Scott mscott Fine Arts, Languages 5155 Marjorie Dernaika (08-10)mderernaika **Developmental Studies** 4474 Darcy Sims-Green (08-10)dsgree Soc Behav. /Crim. Just. 4278

# **Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats.**Office Adm./Information Tech/Hospitality Mgmt, Accountancy/Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Graphic Arts/Industrial and Environ. Technology, Engineering Technology

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Joan McGrory	(09-11)	jmcgrory	Business/Acct/Paralegal	4485
Michelle Gietz	(08-10)	mgietz	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5490
Lee Smart	(08-10)	lsmart	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5076
Arnitria Taylor	(09-11)	ahawkins	Office Administration	4735
Sindy Abadie	(08-10)	csabadie	Business/Acct/Paralegal	6021

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats.  Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health					
Senator	Term email Department E				
Bill Turner	(09-11)	wturner	Mathematics		
Amy Cox	(08-10)	acox	Allied Health 5		
Jason Jennings	(08-10)	jbjennings	Natural Sciences 5		
Amy Waddell	(08-10)	awaddell	Natural Sciences 5		

# **Department Senators:**

Division: Business, Career Studies & Technology

# **Departments:**

- Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies
- Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgmt
- Engineering Technologies
- Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Leslie Peeples	(09-11)	lpeeples Off Adm/InfoTech/Hosp		4006
Mahnaz Ghaffarian	(09-11)	mghaffarian	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5509
Stephen Williams	(09-11)	sfwilliams	Engineering Tech.	4989
Dale Railston	ston (09-11) drailston Industrial/Environ. Tech		4160	

**Division: Liberal Studies & Education** 

# **Departments**:

- Developmental Studies
- FineArts, Languages, and Literature
- Education
- Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
William Weppner	(09-11)	wweppner	Developmental Studies	5524
Vava Cook	(08-10)	vcook	Education	5347
Clark McKinney	(08-10)	cmckinney	Soc Behav. /Crim. Just.	5347
John Prichard	(09-11)	jpritchard	oritchard Fine Arts/Language/Lit	

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences

## **Departments:**

- Mathematics
- Natural Sciences

- Nursing Allied Health

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Jason Whitt	(09-11)	jwhitt	Mathematics	5245
Joyce Johnson	(08-10)	jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
Pam Jones	(09-11)	pljones	Nursing	5439
Delores Boland	(08-10)	dboland	Allied Health	5416