Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus December 7, 2010

Page 1 of 5

A. Call to Order and Roll Call The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Joyce Johnson, president.

The following Senators were present:

Ron Gephart, Jody Couch, Rosie Taylor, Steve Haley, Bill Turner, Joan McGrory, Leslie Peeples, Mahnaz Ghaffarian, Stephen Williams, Ladonna Young, Pam Jones, William Weppner, Jesse Lipford, Jason Whitt, and John Pritchard, Lee Smart, Sindy Abadie, Donald Thomas, Ravi Mehra, ,

The following Senators sent a Proxy: Delores Boland

The following Senators were absent: Dale Railston, Arnitria Taylor,

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

The minutes were approved.

- D. Old Business
 - Two resolutions were presented to the senate for a vote which reflect the motion approved at the last meeting surrounding the faculty evaluation process as it relates to tenured and fully promoted faculty. Attached is the resolution that was accepted by the senate with the understanding that the faculty evaluation system may be used if the administration moves towards merit pay.
 - Joyce Johnson reported that the provost clarified the student complaint process discussed at the last meeting. The provost assured the executive committee in the meeting that student complaints would not be part of the faculty's file.
- E. New Business
 - A motion was made to give guidance on changing the constitution to increase the number of department representatives on the tenure and promotion committees form 2 to 3 to make these committees more diverse and provide for problems in selection. The motion was passed. This will be referred to a committee to review the constitution and present to the senate the required changes.
 - A motion was made to combine the constitution and election committee to review the constitution for any changes necessary related to the reorganization of the two divisions. This review should recommend changes in promotion and

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus December 7, 2010

Page 2 of 5

tenure committees, representation on the senate and any other provisions which are affected. The motion was approved.

The next meeting will be on the Macon campus in February.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 PM.

Page 3 of 5

Faculty Evaluation Process for Tenured Faculty Members Faculty Senate Resolution F2010-01A

Approved by the Faculty Senate: 12/7/2010

Approved by the Provost:

Approved by the President:

WHEREAS, the continued professional growth and development of faculty is necessary for institutions of higher education to continue to provide educational programs in accordance with the College's mission, goals, and changing needs of the institution;

WHEREAS, tenure is awarded only to those members of the faculty who have exhibited professional excellence and outstanding abilities sufficient to demonstrate that their future services and performances justify the degree of performance afforded by academic tenure;

WHEREAS, tenure is recognition of the merit of a faculty member and the assumption that he/she will meet the long term staffing needs of the department or academic program of the College as presented in the policy 5:02:03:01/38 by the Tennessee Board of Regents;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that fully tenured and fully promoted faculty members will be evaluated on Teaching, Advising, Service and Professional Development and as such shall be required to submit documentation into the Faculty Evaluation System only once every **3** years which shall be incorporated into the policy 5:01:00:03/34 and the Faculty Handbook, section: Faculty Development, sub section: Faculty Evaluation, effective with the Fall semester 2011.

Adopted by the Southwest Tennessee Community College Faculty Senate, in regular meeting assembled in the Bert Bornblum Library on the 5th day of November 2010.

Page 4 of 5

2010-2011 Senate

President: Joyce Johnson	jdjohnson7@southwest.tn.edu	6057

Division Senators

Division Senators of Arts and Sciences - Six Seats. Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Communications & Graphic and Fine Arts				
Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Ron Gephardt	(09-11)	rgephart	Communications, Graphics &Fine Arts	5159
Ruthie Couch	(09-11)	jcouch	Mathematics	4608
Michael Scott	(09-11)	mscott	Communications, Graphics and Fine Arts	4535
Rosie Taylor	(10-12)	rdtaylor	Natural Sciences	
Steve Haley	(10-12)	shaley	Social and Behavioral Sciences	5635
Bill Turner	(09-11)	wturner	Mathematics	4254

Division Senators of Career Studies - Five Seats. Business, Technologies, Education, Allied Health, Nursing				
Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Joan McGrory	(09-11)	jmcgrory	Business	4485
Ravi Mehra	(10-12)	rmehra	Business	
Lee Smart	(10-12)	lsmart	Business	5076
Arnitria Taylor	(09-11)	ahawkins	Technologies	4735
Sindy Abadie	(10-12)	csabadie	Business	6021
		dboland	Allied Health	5416

Page 5 of 5

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Technology

Departments:

- Business
- Technologies
- Nursing
- Allied Health
- Education

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Leslie Peeples	(09-11)	lpeeples	Technologies	4006
Mahnaz Ghaffarian	(09-11)	mghaffarian	Business	5509
Stephen Williams	(09-11)	sfwilliams	Technologies	4989
Dale Railston	(09-11)	drailston	Technologies	4160
Ladonna Young	(10-12)		Education	
Delores Boland	(10-12)		Allied Health	
Pam Jones	(09-11)	Pljones7	Nursing	5439

Division: Liberal Studies & Education

Departments:

- Languages, and Literature
- Communication and Graphic and Fines Arts
- Social & Behavioral Science
- Mathematics
- Natural Science

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
William Weppner	(09-11)	wweppner	Mathematics	5524
Donald Thomas	(10-12)	dlthomas	Natural Science	
Jesse Lipford	(10-12)	jlipford	Social and Behavioral	
_			Sciences	
John Prichard	(09-11)	jpritchard	Languages& Literature	5645
Jason Whitt	(09-11)	jwhitt	Mathematics	5245