Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus February 2, 2010

#### A. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Steve Haley, president.

The following Senators were present:

Lee Smart, Leslie Peeples, Steve Haley, Joyce Johnson, Bill Turner, Sindy Abadie, Jason Jennings, Darcey Sims-Green, Marjorie Dernaika, , Joan McGrory, Mahnaz Ghaffarian, John Prichard, Jason Whitt, Stephen Williams, Darcy-Sims Green, Jody Couch, Amy Waddell, Pam Jones, William Weppner, Ron Gephardt

The following Senators sent a Proxy: Vava Cook, Micheal Scott,

The following Senators were absent: Dale Railston, Arnitria Taylor, Delores Boland

### B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

There was a motion and a second to approve the minutes as read.

## C. Reports from Senate Officers and Committees

Joyce Johnson recapped the Sub Council meeting. The following major TBR were discussed:

- Faculty workload and the wording of the TBR policy were discussed. Consensus is the language of a 37.5 hour minimum is too rigid. Wording is being revised to be more flexible and give greater control to the institutions administration.
- There was a discussion of tying funding to graduation rates. This is being reviewed with a desire to relate funding to Mission statements. Decisions will be made by THEC and presented to the General Assembly.
- Lastly there was quite a discussion of Developmental programs. Attached is the A100 2<sup>nd</sup> draft. The sub council will have the ability to recommend changes to the verbiage. To this end Steve Haley appointed a committee to make recommendations on this and report to the senate in March. The committee is composed of Bill Turner, Amy Waddell, Amy Cox and Stephen Williams.

#### D. Old Business

Steve Haley spoke to the reorganization and confirmed that Barbara Roseborough would be Assistant to Provost and Cynthia Calhoun would be assigned to student retention, a priority of the college. Other details would be discussed with Dr. Bassett at the meeting next month if possible.

•

#### E. New Business

Sindy Abadie reported on the Faculty awards and indicated the timeline would be moved up a month to facilitate an earlier decision to meet the Awards Program deadline. Nomination letters will go out soon.

Joyce Johnson reported on The Faulty Senate elections and indicated that the reorganization would have an impact on representation. The new representation configuration is being coordinated with Dr. Bassett's office. Once this is complete the letters will go out to department chairs to start the process.

Marjorie Dernaika and other faculty teaching in the developmental studies area explained the current known's about developmental courses:

- The study skills course has been eliminated and basically replaced by a 3 hours academic success course.
- The 700 level courses will not be funded by financial aid other sources or methods to offer assistance to these students will be sought (these are courses that teach competencies below the high school level)
- The developmental department has been eliminated and the faculty and courses are under the traditional areas (math and education).
- The A100 guidelines are being refined as it relates to 800 level courses and above.

Patrick Foley requested to know the status of Department chair reviews and the possibility of reviews for administration above the department chair level. Steve Haley reminded the senators that faculty did review department chairs year before last but that this did not happen this year. After a discussion it became obvious that the senate feels that these reviews are critical. Steve agreed to take action. He instructed Lee Smart to contact Nevin Robbins and Joanne Bassett on these topics to see what could be accomplished.

Steve Haley also instructed Lee Smart to contact Joanne Bassett concerning the remodeling of the Union Faculty Lounge.

The next meeting will be in the new Macon Library.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30.

# 2009-2010 Senate

President: Steve Haley <a href="mailto:shaley@southwest.tn.edu">shaley@southwest.tn.edu</a> 5635

## **Division Senators**

# Division Senators of Liberal Studies and Education - Five Seats.

Developmental Studies, Education, Fine Arts/Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Science/Criminal Justice

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Ron Gephardt	(09-11)	rgephart	Fine Arts, Languages	5159
Ruthie Couch	(09-11)	jcouch	Developmental Studies	4608
Michael Scott	(09-11)	mscott	Fine Arts, Languages	5155
Marjorie Dernaika	(08-10)	mderernaika	Developmental Studies	4474
Darcy Sims-Green	(08-10)	dsgree	Soc Behav. /Crim. Just.	4278

# Division Senators of Business, Career Studies and Technology - Five Seats.

Office Adm./Information Tech/Hospitality Mgmt, Accountancy/Business Adm. and Paralegal Studies, Graphic Arts/Industrial and Environ. Technology, Engineering Technology

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Joan McGrory	(09-11)	jmcgrory	Business/Acct/Paralegal	4485
Michelle Gietz	(08-10)	mgietz	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5490
Lee Smart	(08-10)	lsmart	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5076
Arnitria Taylor	(09-11)	ahawkins	Office Administration	4735
Sindy Abadie	(08-10)	csabadie	Business/Acct/Paralegal	6021

Division Senators of Math, Natural Sciences, & Health Sciences - Four Seats.					
Nursing, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Allied Health					
Senator Term email Department Ext.					
Bill Turner	(09-11)	wturner	Mathematics 42		
Amy Cox	(08-10)	acox	Allied Health 53		
Jason Jennings	(08-10)	jbjennings	Natural Sciences 56		
Amy Waddell	(08-10)	awaddell	Natural Sciences	5224	

# **Department Senators:**

Division: Business, Career Studies & Technology

## **Departments:**

- Business Administration/Accountancy and Paralegal Studies
- Office Administration/Information Technologies and Hospitality Mgmt
- Engineering Technologies
- Industrial & Environmental Technologies

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Leslie Peeples	(09-11)	lpeeples	Off Adm/InfoTech/Hosp	4006
Mahnaz Ghaffarian	(09-11)	mghaffarian	Business/Acct/Paralegal	5509
Stephen Williams	(09-11)	sfwilliams	Engineering Tech.	4989
Dale Railston	(09-11)	drailston	Industrial/Environ. Tech	4160

**Division: Liberal Studies & Education** 

## **Departments**:

- Developmental Studies
- FineArts, Languages, and Literature
- Education
- Social & Behavioral Science/ Criminal Justice

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
William Weppner	(09-11)	wweppner	Developmental Studies	5524
Vava Cook	(08-10)	vcook	Education	5347
Clark McKinney	(08-10)	cmckinney	Soc Behav. /Crim. Just.	5347
John Prichard	(09-11)	jpritchard	Fine Arts/Language/Lit	5645

Division: Math, Natural Sciences & Health Sciences

### **Departments:**

- Mathematics
- Natural Sciences
- Nursing
- Allied Health

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Jason Whitt	(09-11)	jwhitt	Mathematics	5245
Joyce Johnson	(08-10)	jdjohnson7	Natural Science	6057
Pam Jones	(09-11)	pljones	Nursing	5439
Delores Boland	(08-10)	dboland	Allied Health	5416