Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus March 1, 2011

A. Call to Order and Roll Call The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Joyce Johnson, president.

The following Senators were present:

Lee Smart, Joyce Johnson, Bill Turner, Sindy Abadie, Jason Jennings, Joan McGrory, William Weppner, Ron Gephardt, Jason Whitt, Ravi Mehra, Pam Jones, Jesse Lipford, Ladonna Young, Mahnaz Ghaffarian., Arnitria Taylor, Steve Haley, John Prichard, Donald Thomas

The following Senators sent a Proxy: Michael Scott

The following Senators were absent: Dale Railston, Jody Couch, Delores Boland, Stephen Williams, Leslie Peeples,

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

The minutes were approved as presented with notations that Rosie Taylor was in attendance and Donald Thomas sent his proxy.

C. Reports from Senate Officers and Committees Sindy Abadie reported that the Faculty awards nominations were not strong but there are two nominees for each category. Sindy has judges and announced that the awards luncheon was scheduled for the Friday (April 29) of exam week.

D. Old Business

Macon Academic Building issues and other facility issues were once again discussed. The primary issues that Joyce got answers on include:

- Blinds as the glare makes it impossible to teach. <u>Will be installed partially</u> <u>during spring break the project will be completed shortly thereafter.</u>
- Furniture and equipment request are not being responded too. <u>No answer to date</u>
- Parking: request large sign reading "Faculty and guest only", security patrols to stop speeding and illegal parking by students. <u>Mr. Parr promised more aggressive patrols.</u>
- Stench in the Thorton building caused by the workout room. <u>Fans will be</u> used for ventilation, but all agreed this location is not ideal for a workout facility as it is not designed for this purpose.

E. New Business

Joanne Bassett joined the faculty senate for a Q & A. The major issues covered included:

- Evaluations-This year will remain the same. Going forward Dr. Bassett said that evaluations would be the basis for merit pay so to be eligible for merit pay evaluations would be necessary. But if tenured faculty wants to opt out of merit pay, a more abbreviated evaluation would be made available for next year. The existing evaluation is required for tenure track, non tenured and faculty who intend to apply for promotion or participation in merit pay.
- Evaluations for the upcoming year will be prepared in Spring.
- Request for participation in VBP deferment must be put to her in writing and require a "business" purpose and this does not include that the requestor has not reached age for retirement.
- Request to share Department and Division results on Faculty evaluations for comparison purposes will be requested for the faculty senates review.
- In 2012 the plan is to return to MWF classes to utilize classrooms more effectively.

Jason Whitt reported on the committee on Budget Reduction Strategies. He said all ideas or suggestion should be sent to he or Leslie Peeples.

Jason also reported on the faculty senate elections and indicated the committee had restructured the representatives. The letters would go out for Department reps on the 21^{st} and Division reps on the 28^{th} .

Joyce reported that the Executive committee has established a special committee to review and evaluate faculty related issues in the budget reduction.

The next meeting will be on the Macon campus.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 PM.

2010-2011 Senate

President: Joyce Johnson

<u>jdjohnson7@southwest.tn.edu</u>

6057

Division Senators

Division Senators of Arts and Sciences - Six Seats. Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Communications & Graphic and Fine Arts

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Ron Gephardt	(09-11)	rgephart	Communications,	5159
			Graphics & Fine Arts	
Ruthie Couch	(09-11)	jcouch	Mathematics	4608
Michael Scott	(09-11)	mscott	Communications,	4535
			Graphics and Fine Arts	
Rosie Taylor	(10-12)	rdtaylor	Natural Sciences	5225
Steve Haley	(10-12)	shaley	Social and Behavioral	5635
		-	Sciences	
Bill Turner	(09-11)	wturner	Mathematics	4254

Divi	ision Senat	ors of Career Stud	ies - Five Seats.	
Busines	s, Technolo	gies, Education, Al	lied Health, Nursing	
Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Joan McGrory	(09-11)	jmcgrory	Business	4485
Ravi Mehra	(10-12)	rmehra	Business	
Lee Smart	(10-12)	lsmart	Business	5076
Arnitria Taylor	(09-11)	ahawkins	Technologies	4735
Sindy Abadie	(10-12)	csabadie	Business	6021

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Technology

Departments:

- Business

- TechnologiesNursingAllied Health
- Education

Senator T	erm email	Department	Ext.
-----------	-----------	------------	------

Leslie Peeples	(09-11)	lpeeples	Technologies	4006
Mahnaz Ghaffarian	(09-11)	mghaffarian	Business	5509
Stephen Williams	(09-11)	sfwilliams	Technologies	4989
Dale Railston	(09-11)	drailston	Technologies	4160
Ladonna Young	(10-12)		Education	
Delores Boland	(10-12)		Allied Health	
Pam Jones	(09-11)	Pljones7	Nursing	5439

Division: Liberal Studies & Education

Departments:

- Languages, and LiteratureCommunication and Graphic and Fines Arts
- Social & Behavioral Science
- Mathematics
- Natural Science

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
William Weppner	(09-11)	wweppner	Mathematics	5524
Donald Thomas	(10-12)	dlthomas	Natural Science	5223
Jesse Lipford	(10-12)	jlipford	Social and Behavioral	
			Sciences	
John Prichard	(09-11)	jpritchard	Languages& Literature	5645
Jason Whitt	(09-11)	jwhitt	Mathematics	5245