Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Union Campus March 13, 2012

A. Call to Order and Roll Call Joyce Johnson, president, called the meeting to order at 3 p.m.

The following Senators were present:

Lee Smart, Joyce Johnson, Bill Turner, Jason Whitt, Mahnaz Ghaffarian. Doug Branch, Rosie Taylor, Ravi Mehra, Leslie Peeples, Sindy Abadie, Michael Scott, Dewey Sykes, Jesse Lipford, Joan McGrory, Karen Amy Cox, Donald Thomas Karen Pierce

The following senators sent proxies: Steve Haley, John Friedlander

The following Senators were absent: Pam Jones, Ladonna Young

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

The minutes were approved.

C. Reports from Senate Officers and Committees

Jason Whitt, chair of the Senate Election Committee reported that the department representative deadline from department chairs was soon approaching. The divisions representatives request were coming in and would be placed on the ballot for faculty voting. Also a letter to faculty requesting candidates for president has gone out.

A motion was made and approved to accept the report of the faculty handbook committee that was sent out for review prior to the meeting. Several corrections to the handbook were discussed. These included the items enumerated in the memo from John Friedlander circulated, incorrect application on page 58, 59, 60 and to review the new community college governance on page 9. A motion was made to adopt the changes and forward to the committee for inclusion.

Rosie Taylor, chair of the Awards Committee, reported that there had been faculty members nominated for each of the awards. She asked for assistance in obtaining peer judges.

D. Old Business

Ronald Parr provided updated information regarding the total percent of the budget used for instruction after the February meeting. We requested a breakdown of the last three years and a comparison of the budgets for the other institutions in the TBR system. Mr. Parr contacted Joyce Johnson stating that this information was not going to be available at the time of the meeting, but he expected Mr. Eason to be finished compiling the information soon. Attached is the budget data requested for the last three years.

Nevin Robbins was present and was able to offer additional insight to faculty questions asked at the last meeting. *What percent of the budget was allocated for instruction? If our college was in line with other TBR schools?* Nevin provided the attached breakdown of the current year budget and assured the Senate this was in line with other TBR schools. He also explained that every institution may have different line items included under Instruction which may account for some of the differences in institution percentages. The attached documents show the items included under our instructional budgets.

E. New Business

Nevin was invited at the request of senate president, Joyce Johnson, to discuss the new funding formula and how we as faculty could impact funding. This presentation lasted over 45 minutes – a brief summary of the formula is attached. There will be additional meetings around campus to discuss the new funding formula; faculty members please try to attend.

The next meeting will be on the Macon campus.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 PM.

2011-2012 Senate

President: Joyce Johnson jdjohnson7@southwest.tn.edu

6057

Division Senators

Division Senators of Arts and Sciences - Five Seats. Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Mathematics, Natural				
Sciences, and Communications & Graphic and Fine ArtsSenatorTermemailDepartmentExt.				
Karen Pierce	(11-13)	kpierce	Social & Behavioral Sciences	5317
Bill Turner	(11-13)	wturner	Mathematics	4254
Doug Branch	(11-13)	dbranch	Languages and Literature	4483
Rosie Taylor	(10-12)	rdtaylor	Natural Sciences	5225
Steve Haley	(10-12)	shaley	Social and Behavioral Sciences	5635

Division Senators of Career Studies - Five Seats. Business, Technologies, Allied Health, Nursing				
Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Joan McGrory	(11-13)	jmcgrory	Business	4594
Ravi Mehra	(10-12)	rmehra	Business	4326
Lee Smart	(10-12)	lsmart	Business	6045
Dewey Sykes	(11-13)	dsykes	Technologies	4735
Sindy Abadie	(10-12)	csabadie	Business	6021

Department Senators:

Division: Career Studies

Departments:

- Business
- Technologies
- Nursing
- Allied Health

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Leslie Peeples	(11-13)	lpeeples	Technologies	4006
Mahnaz Ghaffarian	(11-13)	mghaffarian	Business	4479
	(11-13)			
Amy Cox	(10-12)	acox	Allied Health	5390
Pam Jones	(11-13)	Pljones7	Nursing	5439

Division: Arts and Sciences

Departments:

- Languages, and Literature
- Communication and Graphic and Fines Arts
- Social & Behavioral Science
- Mathematics
- Natural Science

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Michael Scott	(11-13)	mscott	Communications & Arts	4535
Donald Thomas	(10-12)	dlthomas	Natural Science	5223
Jesse Lipford	(10-12)	jlipford	Social and Behavioral	
			Sciences	
John Friedlander	(11-13)	jfriedlander	Languages& Literature	4274
Jason Whitt	(11-13)	jwhitt	Mathematics	5245
Ladonna Young	(11-13)	lyoung	Social and Behavioral	4160
			Sciences	