Faculty Senate Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Tuesday, November 14, 2023, 3:00 PM Union Ave. Campus, UF 319

1. Call to order and roll

Joyce Johnson called the meeting to order at 3:00. Doug Branch took the roll.

Joyce Johnson (22-24) President

Division Senators, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics

Doug Branch (23-25) **Secretary**Thomas King (23-25) **Parliamentarian** (absent)
Julie Lester (23-25)
Lake Newton (22-24)
Annie Sultana (22-24)

Division Senators, Business and Technologies

Timothy Harrison (23-25) Lisa Hadley (22-24)

Division Senators, Health and Natural Sciences

Carl Chiong (23-25) Shilpa Desai (22-24) **Treasurer** John Murrell (22-24)

Department Senators

Lindsey Shaidnagle (22-24) Allied Health
Arnetria Taylor (23-25) Business and Legal Studies (absent)
Tad Lauritzen Wright (23-25) Communications, Graphic and Fine Arts
Shelley Trigg (22-24) EMS
Stewart White (22-24) Technologies Vice-President (absent)
Emily Ford (23-25) Languages and Literature
Darrick Slaughter (22-24) Natural Sciences
Emily Taylor (22-24) Nursing
Khalil Rassy (22-24) Mathematics
Shannon Little (23-25) Social and Behavioral Sciences (absent)

2. The reading and approval of the minutes.

The body approved the minutes from the October, 2023 faculty senate meeting.

- 3. Reports from senate officers and senate committees
- A. Joyce Johnson: Report on regular SEC meeting with Carol Ash, VPAA

The administration sent out an email asking for faculty volunteers to serve on the student success council, a group that focuses on curriculum matters and faculty processes. There are sub-councils under this group that need faculty leaders as well. There had also been a recent data summit, explaining what kinds of institutional data are available to faculty and how to access it. Anybody who wishes to access data should go to A to Z on the college homepage and look under I for "Institutional Research." Go to "Fact Book," and then go to "Historical Fact Book." From there go to "Southwest Fact Book." Much institutional data should be accessible.

Matthew Lexow is now interim associate dean, with digital learning under his purview.

Carol Ash had noted that she is working with digital learning over issues with CRN's in classes using digital twin on multiple campuses. There will be two different CRN's for digital twin classes meeting on two different campuses. And Carol is working with D2L with the idea of putting those two different CRN's in one PAWS shell.

There is a new PAWS feature that will allow faculty to copy material between courses in PAWS.

The chair for Allied Health position has been opened, with the aim of hiring the new chair before the beginning of spring semester.

Concerns about security, especially on Union Ave. and especially in the evenings, were mentioned. We do need to fill some more security positions. Faculty members who feel unsafe are encouraged to ask for security escorts when leaving campus late. The new campus police chief, Ernest Greenleaf, wishes to make more officers available around 9:00 PM and to ask officers to do final checks later, around 9:30, so that there will be more officers present when late classes dismiss. Ernest has also encouraged faculty to use his cell phone number, 901-573-0809, to request an escort late in the evening.

The administration wants faculty feedback about dual enrollment issues. Joyce wants faculty to send emails detailing concerns and problems to her and assures anonymity if requested. One problem she wants to be able to discuss with the administration has to do with professors being pressured to give only A's and B's in dual enrollment courses.

B. Shilpa Desai: President's Cabinet Report

Shilpa reported that the college has hired a new communications person to help improve internal communications, which in President Hall's opinion are lacking. We have also hired a new person for fundraising, and there is hope that we can secure funds meant for HBCU's, money that more often goes to four-year institutions.

We will be looking for a new location in north Memphis to replace the Gill campus. We will especially be looking for a location closer to bus lines and high schools.

President Hall is concerned that some people who leave the college receive a lot of acknowledgement and thanks while others leave with very little or none. She would like more consistency and has asked the institutional affairs council to work on this.

C. Thomas King: Grade Appeals Committee (Doug Branch reporting):

In an email to the senate, Thomas King said his committee had met with VPAA Ash and that the committee would be working on changing language on the webform about the sorts of complaints that should come to the grade appeals committee. As of now, many complaints seem spurious and should be handled by other means than the grade appeals committee.

D. Thomas King: Awards Committee (Doug Branch reporting):

In an email to the senate, Thomas asked senators to be sure to nominate their colleagues or themselves for various faculty awards. We especially would like to have a large pool of nominees for the Farris Award.

E. Tad Lauritzen Wright: Faculty Welfare Committee

Tad discussed the email address, monitored by him and LaPetria Rhoe, for faculty welfare-related complaints and inquiries. Tad plans to develop parameters for the kinds of issues that should be sent to that email address, and he and Joyce plan to send an announcement to the faculty explaining how the address is to be used as soon as Tad finishes writing those parameters.

4. New Business

A: Stewart White: Selection of promotion and tenure and promotion and tenure appeals committees:

Following the usual protocols, the committees were selected. The members of the 2023-2024 committees will be as follows:

Promotion and tenure committee: Victoria Gray, Doug Smith, Mike Stephens, Annie Sultana, Rosie Taylor, Dieter Tillman, Donald Thomas. Alternates: Lisa Coleman, Mahnaz Ghaffarian

Promotion and tenure appeals committee: Sindy Abadie, Ziba Hooshdaran, Marcia hunter, Marguerite Jackson-Jones, Wayne Morris, Charles Pender, Khalil Rassy. Alternates: Saeid Baki-Hashemi, Miki Richardson

5. Adjournment

Joyce adjourned the meeting at 4:30 PM

Respectfully Submitted, Doug Branch Faculty Senate Secretary