Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Macon Campus April 1, 2011

A. Call to Order and Roll Call Joyce Johnson, president, called the meeting to order at 3 p.m.

The following Senators were present:

Lee Smart, Joyce Johnson, Bill Turner, Sindy Abadie, Jason Jennings, Joan McGrory, William Weppner, Ron Gephardt, Jason Whitt, Ravi Mehra, Pam Jones, Jesse Lipford , Ladonna Young, Mahnaz Ghaffarian., Steve Haley, John Prichard, Donald Thomas, Leslie Peeples, Michael Scott, Rosie Taylor

The following senators sent proxies: Jody Couch, Arnitria Taylor

The following Senators were absent: Dale Railston, Delores Boland, Stephen Williams,

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

The minutes were approved as presented.

C. Reports from Senate Officers and Committees

Sindy Abadie reported that the Faculty awards nominations participation was not strong. The judges have met and selected the recipients. The awards luncheon is scheduled for Friday (April 29) of exam week. Sindy also asked for a new chairman for this committee for next year. Rosie Taylor agreed to chair next year.

Jason reported on the faculty senate elections and provided the senators with the following results:

Business:Mahnaz GhaffarianTechnologies:Leslie PeeplesNursing:Keevia PorterLang. & Lit:John FriedlanderMath:Jason WhittComm. & Arts:Michael Scott

New Replacement Dept Rep (2010-12)

Allied Health: Amy Cox (replacing Delores Borland)

New Division Reps (2011-13)

Career:Dewy Sykes, Joan McGroryArts & Sciences:Bill Turner, Doug Branch, Karen Pierce

D. Old Business

Joyce reported on the Union facelift project. She reported we have received correspondence from Ron Parr concerning the faculty senate request for furniture and equipment. Ron Parr said the requests were reasonable and that most of the request could be filled with existing assets. These would be located and moved to the faculty lounge. He reported that this should be accomplished by June 30th. She also reported that the keypad on the faculty lounge door has been installed. After the meeting, she received correspondence that each faculty member's code would be the last 4 digits of their social security number.

La Donna Young reported on the committee established by Dr. Bassett chaired by Dean Kendall on faculty evaluations. La Donna said the committee will recommend to Dr. Bassett that fully tenured, fully promoted faculty have the option to check a box "I elect not to participate in merit pay" and write a paragraph about the current year's accomplishments. This option would be utilized for two years and the third year a full evaluation would be required. This policy could possibility take effect for next year's evaluation.

Jason Whitt reported on the committee on Budget Reduction Strategies. He said most of the recommendations did not impact faculty. He did see several avenues that the faculty could impact the budget that could be reinforced with valid statistics. Jason feels we have an opportunity to improve outcomes and the new budget and will bring these to the new committee established by the executive committee. Some areas for improvement are advising, students who play the financial aide game and students who register late.

There was a meeting to review the faculty evaluation statistics from last year with Dr. Bassett and Nevin Robbins but the meeting had to be postponed.

E. New Business

Joyce reported that the Executive committee has established a special committee to review and evaluate faculty related issues in the budget reduction and indicated that several senators would be needed to assist on this committee.

Donald Thomas requested on behalf of several faculty members the Senate's help on reinforcing the smoking policy.

Joyce thanked old and new senators and gave certificates of appreciation to all senators that served this year.

The next meeting will be on the Union campus and unless there is an urgent matter the senate will not meet again until October.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 PM and the new and old senators all enjoyed a reception.

2010-2011 Senate

President: Joyce Johnson

jdjohnson7@southwest.tn.edu

6057

Division Senators

Division Senators of Arts and Sciences - Six Seats. Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Communications & Graphic and Fine Arts					
Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.	
Ron Gephardt	(09-11)	rgephart	Communications, Graphics &Fine Arts	5159	
Ruthie Couch	(09-11)	jcouch	Mathematics	4608	
Michael Scott	(09-11)	mscott	Communications, Graphics and Fine Arts	4535	
Rosie Taylor	(10-12)	rdtaylor	Natural Sciences	5225	
Steve Haley	(10-12)	shaley	Social and Behavioral Sciences	5635	
Bill Turner	(09-11)	wturner	Mathematics	4254	

Division Senators of Career Studies - Five Seats.				
Business, Technologies, Education, Allied Health, Nursing				
Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Joan McGrory	(09-11)	jmcgrory	Business	4485
Ravi Mehra	(10-12)	rmehra	Business	
Lee Smart	(10-12)	lsmart	Business	5076
Arnitria Taylor	(09-11)	ahawkins	Technologies	4735
Sindy Abadie	(10-12)	csabadie	Business	6021

Department Senators:

Division: Business, Career Studies & Technology

Departments:

- Business
- Technologies
- Nursing
- Allied Health
- Education

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Leslie Peeples	(09-11)	lpeeples	Technologies	4006
Mahnaz Ghaffarian	(09-11)	mghaffarian	Business	5509
Stephen Williams	(09-11)	sfwilliams	Technologies	4989
Dale Railston	(09-11)	drailston	Technologies	4160
Ladonna Young	(10-12)		Education	
Delores Boland	(10-12)		Allied Health	
Pam Jones	(09-11)	Pljones7	Nursing	5439

Division: Liberal Studies & Education

Departments:

- Languages, and Literature
- Communication and Graphic and Fines Arts
- Social & Behavioral Science
- Mathematics
- Natural Science

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
William Weppner	(09-11)	wweppner	Mathematics	5524
Donald Thomas	(10-12)	dlthomas	Natural Science	5223
Jesse Lipford	(10-12)	jlipford	Social and Behavioral	
			Sciences	
John Prichard	(09-11)	jpritchard	Languages& Literature	5645
Jason Whitt	(09-11)	jwhitt	Mathematics	5245