Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Southwest Tennessee Community College Macon Campus April 3, 2012

A. Call to Order and Roll Call Justin Whitt, vice president, called the meeting to order at 3 p.m.

The following Senators were present: Lee Smart, Joyce Johnson, Bill Turner, Jason Whitt, Mahnaz Ghaffarian. Doug Branch, Rosie Taylor, Leslie Peeples, Sindy Abadie, Michael Scott, Dewey Sykes, Jesse Lipford, Joan McGrory, Amy Cox, Donald Thomas, John Friedlander

The following senators sent proxies: Steve Haley, Ladonna Young, Karen Pierce, Ravi Mehra

The following Senators were absent: Pam Jones

B. Reading and Approval of Minutes

The minutes were approved.

C. Reports from Senate Officers and Committees

Jason Whitt reported on the election committee regarding the division and department senate representatives -- announcing the election results.

Rosie Taylor, chair of the Awards committee, reported that someone had been nominated for each of the faculty awards. She is waiting on one judge's vote from Rust College, then all of the awards will be selected. Sindy Abadie proposed a change to the award process suggesting that an in-college vote may be better than the current process. This in-college vote would exclude the Farris award due to the monetary component. There has been reluctance with faculty nominated to submit their applications and a difficulty in finding peer judges. It was agreed that the process should be reviewed and that this should be given to a committee for review and recommendations.

D. Old Business

The bookstore issue was revisited. Mahnaza Ghaffarian reported that the bookstore was on the defensive at the meeting of the bookstore committee. The senators agreed that the bookstore's response to the Senate concerns was defensive, not responsive. Much discussion ensued. One issue of concern was the administration's edict that faculty should not under any circumstances make recommendations to students of optional locations to purchase books other than the bookstore. This mandate may not be in the best interest of the students, as felt by some senate members. After much discussion, it was decided that the Senate would request a copy of the bookstore contract with the college. This will be reviewed with the SEC, and they will request a meeting with the bookstore to address the issues and try to come to some mutually agreeable resolution. Also the SEC will address concerns with college administration on bookstore policy and what is in the best interest of the students.

### E. New Business

### Student Discipline

Two issues concerning student discipline were discussed. Joan McGrory brought up the discipline issues with students. She indicated that faculty are reporting that they are experiencing an increase in frequency and severity of student discipline issues. The current process is not effective for faculty protection. The unruly students are always placed back in the classroom with little or no action, disrupting the learning process. After much discussion this was referred to the Faculty Welfare Committee to investigate and make a recommendation for action. In the same discussion, questions were raised regarding the role of the Behavioral Intervention Team (BIT), chaired by Barbara Roseborough. Specifically, the Senate would like a clear definition of the mission of this team. It was suggested that this team conduct an inquiry into the number of incidents, whether they have increased and if they are or have become more aggressive. This is to be referred to the Faculty Senate Welfare Committee.

Nomination and Election of the New Senate Executive Committee: Joyce Johnson opened the floor for nomination for each position. It was moved, properly seconded, and voted to elect the nominations.

Jason Whitt, Vice President Leslie Peeples, Secretary Bill Turner, Treasurer John Friedlander, Parliamentarian

The new faculty senate president, Todd Blankenbeckler, gave some remarks concerning the tone of his new administration.

#### •

The next meeting will be on the Macon campus probably in September.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 PM with a reception following.

# 2011-2012 Senate

President: Joyce Johnson jdjohnson7@southwest.tn.edu

6057

# **Division Senators**

<b>Division Senators of Arts and Sciences - Five Seats.</b> Language and Literature, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Mathematics, Natural				
Sciences, and Communications & Graphic and Fine ArtsSenatorTermemailDepartment				Ext.
Karen Pierce	(11-13)	kpierce	Social & Behavioral Sciences	5317
Bill Turner	(11-13)	wturner	Mathematics	4254
Doug Branch	(11-13)	dbranch	Languages and Literature	4483
Rosie Taylor	(10-12)	rdtaylor	Natural Sciences	5225
Steve Haley	(10-12)	shaley	Social and Behavioral Sciences	5635

<b>Division Senators of Career Studies - Five Seats.</b> Business, Technologies, Allied Health, Nursing				
Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Joan McGrory	(11-13)	jmcgrory	Business	4594
Ravi Mehra	(10-12)	rmehra	Business	4326
Lee Smart	(10-12)	lsmart	Business	6045
Dewey Sykes	(11-13)	dsykes	Technologies	4735
Sindy Abadie	(10-12)	csabadie	Business	6021

# **Department Senators:**

# **Division:** Career Studies

### **Departments:**

- Business
- Technologies
- Nursing
- Allied Health

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Leslie Peeples	(11-13)	lpeeples	Technologies	4006
Mahnaz Ghaffarian	(11-13)	mghaffarian	Business	4479
	(11-13)			
Amy Cox	(10-12)	acox	Allied Health	5390
Pam Jones	(11-13)	Pljones7	Nursing	5439

### **Division:** Arts and Sciences

## **Departments**:

- Languages, and Literature
- Communication and Graphic and Fines Arts
- Social & Behavioral Science
- Mathematics
- Natural Science

Senator	Term	email	Department	Ext.
Michael Scott	(11-13)	mscott	Communications & Arts	4535
Donald Thomas	(10-12)	dlthomas	Natural Science	5223
Jesse Lipford	(10-12)	jlipford	Social and Behavioral	
			Sciences	
John Friedlander	(11-13)	jfriedlander	Languages& Literature	4274
Jason Whitt	(11-13)	jwhitt	Mathematics	5245
Ladonna Young	(11-13)	lyoung	Social and Behavioral	4160
			Sciences	