Thirty Southwest Student-Athletes Receive All-Academic Honors from TCCAA

For more information, contact: Keith Gentry, Sports Information Director
(901) 333-4114

(Memphis, TN) - Thirty Southwest Tennessee Community College student-athletes have been honored for their academic excellence, receiving All-Academic recognition from the Tennessee Community College Athletic Association (TCCAA). Sophomore softball players Ashton Mauldin and Madison Norris each earned a perfect 4.0 grade point average for the 2020-2021 academic year and were recipients of the TCCAA’s ‘Highest Academic Honor’ award.

Leading the five Southwest teams was baseball with twelve TCCAA All-Academic honorees – sophomores Dylan Baskin, Evan Crenshaw, Jarrett Fowlkes, Kimmey Johnson, Curt McDonald and Gaylen Rutledge, and freshmen JD McCord, Grant Ream, Dawson Simmons, Tristian Swift, Rylan Wallingford and Nicholas Vaccaro. Softball and women’s soccer were next with eight while both men’s and women’s basketball had one each.

Softball recipients were sophomores Maudlin, Norris, Lily Soverns and Emily Staten, and freshmen Makayla Ables, Taylor Chastain, Chloe Dunn and Mikayla Savage. Representing women’s soccer were sophomores Emma Duke, Kellen Gresko, Taylor Moak, Regan Patty, and Brichanise Terrell, and freshmen Sara Duke, McKenna Walker and Lara Walsh. Women’s basketball’s honoree was sophomore Breundria Ward while Men’s Basketball’s was freshmen Juan Cajelli.

Recipients of the TCCAA's All-Academic award must earn at least a 3.0 cumulative grade points average (for sophomores with at least 48 hours of college credit) or a 3.2 cumulative grade point average (for freshmen with at least 24 hours).