Southwest police chief soars with statewide award

By Diana Fedinec  

Director of Police Services and Public Safety, L. Angela Webb
L. Angela Webb, Director of Police
Services and Public Safety

Congratulations to Director of Police Services and Public Safety, L. Angela Webb, on winning the Tennessee Board of Regents’ Statewide Outstanding Achievement and Recognition (SOAR) award for Staff Member of the Year March 25, 2021.  

“Chief Webb is truly deserving of this statewide honor,” Southwest President Tracy D. Hall said. “She is an innovative public safety professional and her pandemic response has been nothing short of extraordinary. She is an agile, knowledgeable, conscientious leader and we are so fortunate to have her on our team.”

Webb earned the recognition for her leadership in keeping the campus community safe during the COVID-19 pandemic.  She developed and implemented a comprehensive college-wide system of safety measures and protocols for students, employees and visitors that led to an excellent review of the campus environment by the Shelby County Health Department. She also contributed to the college’s four-phase Back to Campus Plan, ensuring compliance with Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and local public health guidelines. 

Webb thanked TBR, Dr. Hall and the judges for their support. “Southwest Tennessee Community College is an institution that provides a high-quality education in an environment that fosters growth and safety,” she said during her acceptance speech at the ceremony. 

A retired major with the Memphis Police Department, Webb joined Southwest in 2015. She is Director-At-Large on the 2021 International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators Board of Directors.  Her innovative programming and community relations garnered her the American Association of Community Colleges’ 2019 College Safety Planning and Leadership Award. Webb has received Southwest’s Vice President Award of Excellence twice. 

TBR established the SOAR Awards in 2019 to honor outstanding faculty, staff, students, colleges and community partners.  Eighteen finalists advanced from regional to state competition to virtually interview with a panel of judges for the Outstanding Student, Faculty and Staff Member of the Year award. 

Congratulations, Director Webb!  

For information about the SOAR awards and to view a list of SOAR winners and finalists, visit Watch the SOAR Awards ceremony on-demand at

Staff Member of the Year